What does activation lock mean on iPad?

Why is my iPad showing activation lock?

Activation lock is an anti theft feature. You need to get the previous owner to enter their Apple ID to remove the activation lock. See details below. It requires the Apple ID and password of the previous owner.

How do you bypass activation required on iPad?

Launch Settings app > General > Reset > Reset Network Settings > Enter device passcode > Confirm Reset. After network settings reset, check if the activation required messages disappear or not.

Is activation lock on by default?

If an eligible Mac computer is using Device Enrollment and is upgraded to macOS 10.15 or later, Activation Lock is disallowed by default and can optionally be allowed. Managing Activation Lock on installations (not upgrades) of macOS 10.15 or later require the device to be supervised.

Should the activation lock be on or off?

Turn off Activation Lock before you send your Apple Watch in for service, sell it, or give it away. Before you send your Apple Watch in for service, sell it, or give it away, you should turn off Activation Lock on your Apple Watch.

How do I reset my iPad for a new owner without Apple ID?

If you want to factory reset your iPhone/iPad but don’t remember the Apple ID and password and your ‘Find My’ is turned off, then you can unlock your iPhone/iPad using the iTunes app. Using iTunes on your computer, you can factory reset your iPhone/iPad without your Apple ID and password.

Can Best Buy remove activation lock?

Most of the time, we are able to remove the lock without any loss of data. To get started, please make an appointment with your local Best Buy’s Geek Squad and we’ll go over what you can expect. We’ll likely check in the phone and start our work there too.

How do I reset my iPad without a password or computer?

If you are now able to open your iPad, you can erase all of your data and return it to its factory default settings without connecting it to a computer. Ensure that your iPad is charged, or connect it to a power source. Open ​Settings​; select ​General​ and then select ​Reset​. Select ​Erase All Content and Settings​.